Thread: Partnership-based work visa - running out of time!

Exclamation Partnership-based work visa - running out of time!

Hello everyone
    I will start with explaining my situation and then follow with the questions that I have.
    I am a New Zealand citizen that has lived here my entire life. I am in my final year of a BSc degree at the University of Canterbury and I have a part-time job at a clinical trials lab that I've had for almost two years. In November last year after uni exams I went on a holiday to the USA. On Christmas day I met my boyfriend Bryan who is a USA citizen. We met on a 3-day bus ride from one side of the country to the other and by the end of the bus ride I had changed my flights (I was due to fly home 27th December) and my bus ticket so that I could go stay with him. We lived together from 27th December - 10th February when I had to fly back to NZ as my 90 day visitor visa was to expire on the 11th. In early January we decided that he would come with me to NZ until I finished my uni (November) and then we would both go back to USA together long term. It was at this time that we had started the process of getting him a passport and around the 20th of January I purchased a flight for the 16th of Feb for him to fly to NZ. The standard process of getting a passport was going to take longer than the time that we had so we decided to go to the regional passport office in Los Angeles and do the next day service to get his passport and he would join me in NZ (on a 3 month visitor visa-not partnership based) a week later. Unfortunately we apparently did not have all the required documents to get the passport (only had an Alaskan ID and they only accepted Californian ones) so we had to push the flight back a month and he flew to Alaska to get his passport there (there is no next day service in Alaska only a 3 week expedited one). Around the 7th of March he got his new passport and on the 14th of March he arrived in New Zealand (getting a 3month vi