Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Moving from Toronto, Canada

Default Moving from Toronto, Canada

Hi, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. My wife and I are looking to relocate from Toronto, Canada where I have lived all my life. My wife is from Hamilton NZ and was working as a nurse before she left. There are three things I dont seem to get a good answer on.

1. Weather Im looking to leave Toronto because of the winters. I hear the same of the winter over there but that seems to be a problem only in the south island. Is the north manageable?

2. Jobs It seems as though its really hard to find a job unless you are there on the ground. I work in IT sales and do see quite a few of the big companies there like Yahoo, Expedia. Is the job market reasonable and what do you think is a reasonable salary I should be expecting.

3. Good Family Income We have a baby and wanted to get an idea of what a middle class family income would be. No one seems to have a clue on that number. $120k NZ dollars to be comfortable?

Thanks in advance!

The weather. Scroll down on this page http://www.wunderground.com/weather-.../Hamilton.html till you see the 'History' square in the bottom left-hand corner. Click on the calendar page, and you can go back through the whole year and see what a whole range of aspects of the weather were like, every single day of the year. That way, you'll KNOW the objective facts, and you won't be relying on anyone's subjective view.