Thread: Decisions on what Visa to apply for - advice please

Default Decisions on what Visa to apply for - advice please

Ok so I am currently in NZ and have been since Oct 2014 on a WHV for 12 months. In Jan I accepted a casual contract teaching English as a second language at a college for adults. In the UK I am a primary school teacher with 5 years teaching experience. Since moving to NZ I am now in a relationship with a Kiwi who also lives in the same town as me.

My intention is to stay in NZ permanently.

My question is this: my visa expires in Oct 2015 and I am beginning to look at options for residency. I would like to teach in a primary school out here and have already had my qualifications assessed by NZQA. Which visa should I go for? Partnership residency is only for couples who have lived together for 12 months which would mean i wouldn't qualify for this until next April. A temp work visa by partnership requires a new medical as it has to be dated within 3 months (i had mine in dec in auckland and INZ have it on file). SMC residency? My points total not including my current casual teaching job and without a permanent job offer are only 105. If my current job change my contract to 12 months fixed term I become 155 points. Originally my plan was to extend my WHV for 11 months until i qualify for partnership residency with my boyfriend but i have since learned there are working restrictions on that visa and i would need to work for all the time i am here.

I have also been following this and a few other forums etc and primary jobs seem hard to come by without already having residency as there are a lot of kiwi teachers searching too!

Any advice or similar situations would be welcomed thanks guys!

Hello.

It may help if you separate out your short-term visa requirements from your longer-term work plans.