Thread: Parents Visa Extension

Default Parents Visa Extension

Hi there,

My mother in already here in NZ with 9 months of Visa. Is there any chance of extending the limit if I'm the only son and she is all dependent on me?

I’ve been a permanent resident for ~2 years so unable to apply for her residency.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated?

There aren't any concessions. I think this is the only option available at the moment for her to spend longer with you.
    http://www.immigration.govt.nz/migra...asavisitor.htm

When she leaves the country after this visit, it would be possible for her to apply for a Multiple entry visitor visa for parents and grandparents of New Zealand citizens/residents (see here http://www.immigration.govt.nz/migra...ors.htm#parent, with more information here http://www.immigration.govt.nz/migra...tipleentry.htm), under your sponsorship. Notice that, with that visa, it would be possible for her to spend a total of 18 months in NZ, out of the three years following the date of issue. If she was mainly based in NZ, she would HAVE to leave, even for just a day or two, at the end of each six-month period. At the end of the 18 months, she would not be eligible to return as a visitor for a further 18 months.