Thread: Nzqa IQA: Generic outcome despite submitting Appendix B.

Default Nzqa IQA: Generic outcome despite submitting Appendix B.

I am a software professional looking for LTSSL points under software engineer occupation. I have 9 years of experience of same.

Today, I received my IQA report where my bachelor of Technology in Electrical Engineering has been assessed as 'Bachelor degree at level 7'. This came as generic outcome.

I had specifically asked for specific outcome in assessment of my qualification. I have submitted Appendix B as well along with a covering letter in which I requested about it.

I don't understand why they have given such a generic outcome despite being requesting specific outcome and supplying all my 9 years of employment references documents.

They also suggested to go for IPENZ asking for comparibility assessment. But my doubt is, since I am software engineer and don't have the requirements to go for occupational registration, why i need to go for KA02 (assuming) assessment. All I need is specific comparable name of my qualification.

I was hoping to get 145 points, but after this report now reduced to 120!

Does that mean it is end of NZ dream!!!

I don't understand why they have given such a generic outcome despite being requesting specific outcome and supplying all my 9 years of employment references documents.
    If INZ give a specific outcome for a foreign qualification, what it means is that they have found that the subject-matter studied is very similar to that studied for the award of a current NZ qualification. When someone fills in the Appendix B form, it is asking them please to look and see if their degree is equivalent to those NZ degrees mentioned for their career in the LTSSL. But if it isn't - if the subject matter is not similar enough to any of them - they can't say it is equivalent, so they can't give a specific outcome.