Thread: Is NZQA assement required for me ?

Default Is NZQA assement required for me ?

Hi All,
    I am planning to apply for NZ residency under skilled migration category.
    The more I find out details about the process the more puzzled I am. I have 10 years of software engineering experience in MNC company and I have 3 years of work experience in US and UK. My question is

1) I have done my engineering in electronic and instrumentation from RMK engineering chennai affiliated Anna University in 2005 ? Do I need to get my degree assessed by NZQA by paying 740$ ? The link provide confuse me . Please confirm if I require ?

2) My wife also has similar work experience but has done her mechanical engineering from Manipal university ? Do I need to get her degree assessed by NZQA by again paying 740$ ?

3) Is getting qualification assessed mandatory before applying EOI ?

4) I daily come across a new information or a required process and I keep banging my head to find the right information. Does it makes sense to go to an immigration consultant ?

Please reply

1, 2) You may check if the degrees of you/your wife are on the exemption list. (http://www.immigration.govt.nz/opsmanual/35171.htm)
    NZQA's IQA is required if it is not on the list.

3) You can apply Pre-assessment Result (PAR) if you do not want to do IQA before applying EOI. But you must have IQA report when you submit ITA. Mostly, people apply IQA directly before EOI.

Thanks for the reply.. I did refer to the link before posting my query.
    I do find my university in the list but I am confused about the year and course. I did my bachelors in engineering in electronic and instrumentation from university Anna university and I passed out in 2005 ? Do I need assessment ?

I am not familiar with the education system/institutions in your country.