Thread: Anyone moved to NZ as a security tech

Default Anyone moved to NZ as a security tech

Hi all,
    I'm a security tech trying to move to NZ.
    Immigration have told me i need to be registered with the EWRB as an electrical trade to get a visa.
    How can i register as an electrical trade when i work in the electronics trade?
    This is causing me a bit of a headache at the moment.
    Any security techs on here that have been through visa process?
    How did you get around that stupid rule?

Immigration have told me i need to be registered with the EWRB as an electrical trade to get a visa.
    That is the regulation for getting a work visa under Immediate Skill Shortage List - see here. http://skillshortages.immigration.go...-trades-worker But if you look under 'List of skilled occupations' there, you find this, with no mention of EWRB registration.
    Requirements to claim points for skilled employment (Category B)

A relevant recognised qualification which is at, or above, the qualification level on the New Zealand Qualifications Framework. The qualification must correspond to the skill level indicated for that occupation in the Australian New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations (ANZSCO)
    OR
    The relevant work experience that the ANZSCO indicates may substitute the required qualification
    OR
    The relevant requirements specified in the Long Term Skill Shortage List (LTSSL) for your occupation (if your occupation is included in the LTSSL)
    OR
    Five years of relevant work experience.
    How do you match up there?

ANZSCO http://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/abs@....Trades+Workers just says you have to have a qualification that is the equivalent of a NZ Level 4.