Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: NZQA - Degree assessment

Post NZQA - Degree assessment

Hi friends,

I have a BSc (Hons) in Computer Networks degree from a UK University. It is a top-up degree and I have a letter from the University that I have exempted 1st and 2nd years. I completed the degree in Year 2013 march. Will there be any issue with points and for the IQA? (Also, I have professional certification MCITP, CCNA (expired) ).

Much appreciate your quick replies.

Thanks in advance

Hi Dishan,

Submit all your documents for IQA, make sure IQA outcome match with LTSSL list. If IQA outcome match with LTSSL list, then only claim any bonus point. If it does not match then make sure you search your points else where.

I have burn my time and money, thus giving you advise.

You need to check here http://www.immigration.govt.nz/opsmanual/45798.htm to see if your degree is exempt from assessment. For that to be the case, the degree would need to be named in the top chart, and it would need to be mentioned alongside the name of your university in the second chart, with your year of graduation being covered by the dates mentioned.

What other qualifications did you have, that gave you exemption from the first two years of the course? Those MAY need to be assessed as well.

Hi Jandm & JP-CPT,

Thanks for your quick reply. I was exempted through professional qualifications and work experience. University issued me a letter. Isn't it enough?

Your advice are very important to me.

Thanks

Since you have the full degree from the UK university, it may very well be perfectly all right for the IQA. The reason I said about why you were exempted is that NZQA usually look at the whole course followed when preparing the IQA - the subject matter studied, for how long and to what depth. As you were considered by the university already to have covered material equivalent to years 1 and 2 of the course, NZQA may possibly feel that they need to look at that aspect of it.