Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Aus PR living IN NZ

Default Aus PR living IN NZ

Hi all,

I am British with Permanent Residency in Australia residing in NZ permanent. I have tried to find out what restrictions their are on my resident visa but failed. In my passport I just have a stamp which states I am a resident but nothing else.

Do I have any travel condition on this? say I want to go on holiday for a week and then come back, what then...Does my time start again from the newest stamp? Ultimately i want to get Permanent residency in NZ so i need to get my 184 days per year to achieve this.

You should apply for a resident visa. If you are already eligible for a PRV, then that will be granted. If you depart again without an RV , then your time towards a PRV will retsart on each entry
    Last edited by ChrisMwn; 22nd September 2015 at 11:32 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by ChrisMwn View Post
    You should apply for a resident visa. If you are already eligible for a PRV, then that will be granted. If you depart again without an RV , then your time towards a PRV will retsart on each entry

Yeah that's what I thought.

I have only been here 4 Months. I will look into the Resident visa then. Thanks

Here you are - this is the official word on all this. http://glossary.immigration.govt.nz/...dresidents.htm Getting the NZ residence with travel conditions is only a matter of asking for the stamp in your passport, a formality because you already have Australian PR.

Thanks for that

So the fact that I already got a stamp on my arrival into NZ means I am good to go.

So if i got this right, as long as I get stamped for an exit and arrival, the time spent here will go towards my 184 days needed for PR?

Quote Originally Posted by Nurrish View Post
    Thanks for that

So the fact that I already got a stamp on my arrival into NZ means I am good to go.