Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trying to make up my mind

Default Trying to make up my mind

Hello,

I'm new this forum, I've been reading a lot of the threads and they have helped answer a bunch of my questions.

I'm currently living and working in Scotland and I'm looking for a change. I have been looking into moving myself, partner and our 2 young children somewhere they can have a more active lifestyle and give them more options on what they want to do when they are older.

I currently hold a HND in tech support, a Microsoft Cert (all be it for XP) and I'm almost finished gaining a Cisco CCNA. I have just over 3 years experience as a Network Administrator.

From everything I have read it shouldn't be hard for me to get a job and make more money than I currently am.

I guess my question is with the huge cost of moving over is it really as great as it seems to be or is the grass not as green as it seems to be?

Any feed back/ questions would be amazing

Welcome to the forum.
    Definitely better weather than in Scotland.
    I think people might be able to answer your questions better if you can say what kind of life you have in Scotland (town, country? And where are you looking in NZ?
    Yes, you can potentially have a more active lifestyle, but not quite sure why your children would have more options for their future than in the UK? Or do you just mean in addition to what is possible in the UK?
    Moving can cost a huge amount - starting with visas, medicals etc, selling your house if applicable, moving all your stuff, or buying stuff new in NZ, buying a car, rental/house purchase costs. Plus add on any trips back to the UK if you want that.
    Definitely recommend it, but do lots of research.
    I am sure lots of people will be able to give you job advice. Jobs are generally advertised on seek.co.nz
    Good luck!

Quote Originally Posted by Zorack View Post
    Hello,