Thread: Doctoral Student Coming to Christchurch

Default Doctoral Student Coming to Christchurch

After almost a year of trying to process admission and visa to NZ,I have finally been approved.

I would be coming to Christchurch(UC) to commence my doctoral study early 2016 as a self sponsored student. Since I am a newbie,I would appreciate information from members who are living,working,studying and resident in christchurch about life and living-any good and practical tips that will make it easy for me to settle down on time.

Accommodation;what is accommodation like? possible areas and cost implications too.if my family visa is out early,we intend to come together and if not they will join me later.I have a 3yr old boy and 5yr old girl and one wife.We dont intend on getting anything that big,a simple BQ will do us for a start except there are NZ laws that might be against such.

Schooling for kids:I would appreciate suggestions in this area too.As a doctoral student,my kids will have domestic status,what kind of fees will I be paying for them and what categories of schools will they belong and go to? do we buy books,uniforms etc?

Phones,Transportation and banks; what are the suitable phone plans for students? I have read owing a transport is a necesssity,could I have more information on it and how best to go about it? can i use my foreign drivers licence? what banks and services would you recommend?

Work Opportunities; I would like to augument my savings by starting my studies with some work. What are the opportunities available and how can I tap into them? Any links or associations needed for such? my wife would also be on open work permit.

These are some things I can easily put down now

Help this little brother with his anxieties.
    Last edited by omooba14; 25th November 2015 at 10:52 PM.

Letting you know I have seen your questions, at a time when I can't take a lot of time to answer.