Thread: Do I need to assess my Bachelors of Engineering with NZQA?

Default Do I need to assess my Bachelors of Engineering with NZQA?

Hi guys,

Possibly someone else might have asked this same question but I could not find the relevant post.

I have a Bachelor of Engineering degree from Anna university India - Need NZQA assessment for sure

I also have a Master of Science degree from Nanyang Technological university Singapore - Exempt from NZQA.

Now, can I submit the EOI with just my Master degree and claim points or should I get NZQA for my Bachelor degree also to claim points?

And in the future once I receive ITA, should I still get my Bachelors degree assessed? Do we have extra points for that?

Aravind

Hi,

I have also graduated from the same universities and I did my IQA for claiming the bonus points.

You can submit your Masters degree which is exempt from assessment but it has to be present in the list of qualifications in LTSSL list. Else you may have to get IQA done along with Appendix-B.

For instance, if you had done Masters in Mechanical Engineering and your line of work is in IT then you wont get bonus points. So if your Bachelors degree is on IT, Electronics or Electrical then you can use your Bachelor's degree for IQA with Appendix-B form.

You can get points only for Bachelors or Masters not for both.

You will get points for the highest level qualification you have. SM14. http://www.immigration.govt.nz/opsmanual/6954.htm But if you need bonus points for Area of Absolute Skills Shortage for qualification and for work experience, you will need your bachelor's degree to be assessed as comparable to one of the qualifications listed in the drop-down box on the skills checker. http://skillshortages.immigration.govt.nz/

Thanks all,