Thread: SMC Qualification Questions

Default SMC Qualification Questions

Hi guys, I would like to hear from you about my situation.
    I'm planning in apply for residence under SMC, my currently situation is:

- I have a degree in IT area (embedded systems) studied in Brazil
    - I have about 10 years of experience in that field
    - I have a technician diploma in another area too
    - I am studying english to obtain a minimum 6.5 IELTS score
    - I am already doing some interviews for IT positions, but until now I got nothing.
    - I have a brother which is nz resident (almost citizen)
    - I am 31, married, and will put my wife on application as well
    - She is 28, has a degree in accounting (Brazil) and is studying to obtain a minimum 5 IELTS score.

So, my questions:

1. What do I need do to for claim points for my qualification? Do I need to bring my diploma and take it to NZQA? How it works? I've heard that diploma validation takes us to 3 months, is it real?
    2. If my wife don't reach the minimum english requirement, we could pay for "pre-purchase ESOL training" intead, right? But, what it means? How much it will cost?
    3. About the pool, for someone that gets just 100 points, is there any real chance to be invited?

1. First, look and see if your qualification is on this list. http://www.immigration.govt.nz/opsmanual/35171.htm You would need to find the exact name of your qualification, from the institution where you obtained it, and the date in the last column needs to cover the year you graduated, for it to be exempt from assessment.