Thread: EOI with more than 140 point but no job offer

Question EOI with more than 140 point but no job offer

Hi guys,
    I am an Engineer who lives in New Zealand for around 15 months.
    Actually my partner was a student and I came to NZ with a Partnership based work visa (visa for 1 year). After that I applied for essential work visa in Canterbury region and now I have this visa for 3 years (2.5 years left). I have been working in New Zealand for 1 year but my work is not in engineering field and is not related enough to my education.
    Now I have around 160 points (I should apply for Ipenz to gain their letter first but I am sure that I definitely can gain that).

Last week before applying my Expression of Interest, I consulted with a lawyer about my situation but he said that if I apply I will be rejected. because I have not found any job related to my field in this 15 months.
    Honestly my main problem to find related job has been my visa type. Employers prefer to hire people with permanent work visa not temporary one (such as partnership or essential). So to find related job I need my Resident visa and to apply for this type of visa, I need related job.

Just I want to know that how much is my chance to gain this visa in this situation if I apply now.

Thanks in advance for your time and help

Your application would be considered on the same basis as anyone else's - how it fits into the regulations. http://www.immigration.govt.nz/opsmanual/6954.htm SM6 has a summary of available points, and the other sections give the detailed requirements for claiming those points. (Looking at the regulations here is much less likely to be misleading than the points chart on the INZ website.)