Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I finished my second year of computer science studies and landed an internship over the summer. My employer offered me a permanent job! Decisions...

Default I finished my second year of computer science studies and landed an internship over the summer. My employer offered me a permanent job! Decisions...

Greetings all,

I first moved to New Zealand on a student visa in Feburary of 2014. I am originally from the United States. I studied (and still am studying) computer science at Victoria University of Wellington. Last year, I landed my dream internship at my company of choice. I'm in a DevOps-y type role. To my great pleasure, they've decided that they want to keep me onboard! I love it here and I realise that the job offer gives me a potentially near-immediate pathway to residency through the Skilled Migrant Category.

The best part of residency is that - if I were a resident - I could complete my final year of studies at domestic rates; however, it is immensely unlikely that I will be able to have the SMC-related stuff sorted out in due time. I would like to pay domestic rates before returning to university now, which would hopefully be an option by the time trimester 2 rolls around. I would like to continue working here full-time in the interim, although that's not possible on a student visa. Additionally, if I temporarily halted my studies for one trimester, I would no longer even be eligible for a student visa. My current plan is to apply for a work visa while waiting on SMC things. I have scheduled an appointment for the medical examination, and I'm going to get fingerprinted tomorrow so that I can submit the proper documents to an FBI-approved channeler for a new police certificate.