Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Section 61 Question

Smile Section 61 Question

Hi all first post here and seeking some advice re s61.

I'm a NZ citizen and has been in a relationship with my current partner for about 6 months. We don't live together. A few days ago I found out I am 4 weeks pregnant (despite taking contraceptive measures...) and after some discussion we decided to keep the baby.

HOWEVER, my partner also confessed to me that he's overstayed in NZ for 6years (!!). He hasn't received any deportation notice / order though.

We are planning to get married in a couple months time. My question now is what the best option is:
    1. Apply for s 61 or
    2. My partner to leave NZ and apply for a new visa off shore.

In relation to s61, i wonder whether the following factors will be in our favour with INZ:
    -my occupation is jurisdiction specific so I cannot work in my partners country even if i wanted to;
    -my parents are immigrants but one is citizen and other is PR. Leaving NZ would mean leaving my family behind.
    -my salary alone won't be able to raise the baby. Also - how can I work a highly stressful job while taking care of a baby all alone...
    -I will need to be on a visa and so will the baby if I am to go to my partners country.

I pretty much just want to get a gist of what INZ looks for in these situations. I understand my partner has breached the law (by farrrrr) but wonder if INZ will be lenient in light of the circumstances.

Any advice will be much appreciated!!!

Has your partner been working in NZ during these six years? I'm asking so that anyone with knowledge on this matter which they might be able to share should have the full picture.