Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Visa for partner of Australian citizen

Default Visa for partner of Australian citizen

Hi everyone,

I'm an Australian citizen and I'm planning on moving to New Zealand to do a PhD. My fiance is Canadian and we're currently living in Canada (we're also planning on getting in married in Canada before potentially coming to New Zealand).

As far as I can tell I wouldn't be considered a resident until I arrive in New Zealand, so am I right in thinking that my partner wouldn't be able to apply for a partner visa until I'm in New Zealand?

If that is the case would is it possible that she'd be able to come over on a working holiday visa (she meets all the requirements) and then apply for a partner visa once we've arrived?

Thanks in advance

Hey,

I had a similar situation albiet i am just a Australian resident. To be eligable you need to prove that your place of residence is in New Zealand, meaning you need to have a place to live and have a job. This basically proves that to immi that you have intentions to live and make NZ your primary place of residence. Providing you have atleast 3 months of living together evidence you would have no problem applying for a partner work visa once you have established the foundations in NZ

A WHV is a good option, till you have some evidence of having settled here. Then ,if you are staying, partner based work , or residence application.
    Also suggest she gets a Canadian police clearance while in Canada. They can take forever if you are applying from off shore for one.
    Last edited by ChrisMwn; 2nd February 2016 at 10:18 AM.

Also suggest you get your police clearance, whist you are there, if you have lived in Canada for 12 months, should you wish to go for residency for her, in the next couple of years.

Great, thanks for the advice!

ChrisMwn is true. Mine tool 4 and half months after 5-6 follow-ups with Canadian police.
    Best is to get when you guys are there.