Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: PPI letter and post study work visa

Default PPI letter and post study work visa

Hi everyone This is my first post here. I've been reading a lot from this forum, and would like to ask some questions about my application.

I studied Graduate Diploma in Management (level 7) at Otago Polytechnic 2 years ago. So I was on graduate open work visa, which expired March 2016. I have lodged a residency application on December 2015 (Auckland central branch). I described my job as a Technical Sales Rep. When my open work visa was about to expire, I applied for a post study work visa - employer assisted. It was approved within 2 days, and now currently I am on that visa until 2018.

Last week, I received a PPI letter, saying that my job is not skilled. But I applied a post study work visa under the same anzsco code and they approved it. I'm confused now. So when they approved my post study work visa, they didn't check the anzsco code? What will happen to my current visa if they decline my residency because my job is not substantially matched to the anzsco code?

Any comments appreciated. Thanks!

You are confusing between the requirements for a work visa cf SMC.
    You were granted a post-study work visa merely because your job makes use of your qualification. When assessing the work visa application, the CO makes sure that the papers you studied were relevant to your job. The job doesn't have to be "skilled" as defined by SMC. So you studied Grad Dip in Mgmt, then as long as your job description contains some sort of "management duties", then you got your work visa.

However, when it comes to SMC, your job description is compared against the ANZSCO nominated. The fact that you got a post-study work visa doesn't mean your job meets all the core tasks required in ANZSCO. The CO now makes a holistic view of your job against "Technical Sales Rep" and found a number of core tasks you don't perform.

Quote Originally Posted by l00k View Post