Thread: Partner lives in US, wants to immigrate to join me here in NZ but..

Default Partner lives in US, wants to immigrate to join me here in NZ but..

Hey all

This is my first time posting here so take it easy on me.
    I am a New Zealand citizen and for about the last 6 years I have had a long distance relationship with a U.S based individual, our relationship is almost solely either web based or letters/parcels with daily correspondence via viber or skype . My partner has and I have always considered one of us moving to join the other but recently the discussion has turned to the big question of them immigrating here to join me . I know its a long shot but is the partner visa applicable? I have records and letters/customs forms of many parcels and letters between us dating back to 2012 at the earliest . I have been able to track down our Skype conversation records also, whilst I do lack any photographic evidence which I know is a failing. We have never lived together (this is the crux of the issue I know) but intend to continue our relationship together here

I'm aware this isn't the best case for a partner visa but failing that if they were to come on a visitor visa for the 3 month period and spend time with is this able to be considered as evidence of relationship for a future application?

Advice welcome

You're right in your last paragraph. Since you haven't ever lived together, you don't have the basic requirement for any visa based on partnership. INZ can't simply take anyone's word for how they feel about another person - that would be like an essay competition - so it is brought down to the one element where it can be shown that two people have taken action about being a couple by sharing a home. Visas based on partnership are the ones most targeted by fraudsters, because there is no requirement for particular work experience or qualifications, so INZ check into them very carefully. The minimum amount of time taken seriously is two to three months.