Thread: De Facto Relationship - work visa -

Default De Facto Relationship - work visa -

Hey everyone this is my first time posting. Ive been lurking this site and it has lots of good useful information and figured I would try to add to it instead of just taking from it.

My story is a little odd as most on this forum are.

I came to NZ from Fiji to take care of an uncle going through medical treatment in Auckland. I was basically his allowed assistant and funded by his insurance company. Ive been here since Septemeber 2015. In November of 2015 I moved into my cousins condo ( by myself ) and in January my cousins friends sister moved in. We hit it off great and started dating in mid February. As our relationship grew we looked at options for me to stay here and to be with her and that's how I stumbled onto this forum.

Since late march we have joint our bank accounts, have our bills in both our names and made purchases of a couch on trade me as well as bought new beds and a new washing machine with both our names on the recipts to show joint ownership of property.

The question I have is our rental agreement is in both our names as late January but our we didn't begin our relationship until mid Feb. Is that going to look funny to an agent? Does it matter if we were flat mates then decided be in a committed relationship with each other?

I'm just doing the final details of our application and doing a table of contents and a history outline of our relationship and should be dropping it off tomorrow.

Thanks for all the information this site provides and I hope to add to the success of this site. Will keep you guys posted through the process.

The question I have is our rental agreement is in both our names as late January but our we didn't begin our relationship until mid Feb. Is that going to look funny to an agent? Does it matter if we were flat mates then decided be in a committed relationship with each other?