Thread: Can't find a job. Any advice??

Default Can't find a job. Any advice??

Hey guys and gals. I need some serious help.

I'm an American on a working holiday visa living in Dunedin. My girlfriend and I arrived here on May 11th and I have been applying to all sorts of jobs all day everyday since we arrived and I haven't gotten any bites. My girlfriend and I really want to live here indefinitely and the only reason why I have a working holiday is it was the best option for me to be here and find work that might lead to residence in the future.
    I have a masters degree in Nutrition and have experience as an English as a second language teacher as well. If I find a full-time job I will have enough points to succeed in my Expression of Interest application but I can't seem to find any interested employers. I'm not sure what is the problem, anybody have any advice?

I tailored my resume to fit the style here in NZ and I have my IRD, accounts, phone, and apartment all set up. I plan on living here but of course I need full-time employment to keep living here. I've applied to part-time and full-time jobs that fit my skill set ( with a broad broad brush ) and I
    m trying to avoid the hospitality and horticulture fields since that's not what I am interested in doing. What is the problem? I am getting pretty frustrated.

A few jobs I am a perfect fit for have rejected me and I'm not sure what lies ahead. Is it my visa? Should I just keep up applying and wait? Is it too early? I wanted to get a work visa before I arrived but I talked with a lawyer down here and he said it would be near impossible if I'm not here already. Any recruitment agencies that people could recommend?

We decided to live in Dunedin since it's close to the University which has a lot of jobs I qualify for. Also, it's the type of lifestyle we want to live. We went to Auckland and it just wasn't for us.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, I'm pulling my hair out over here.