Thread: Trying to get my EOI correct

Default Trying to get my EOI correct

Hi all,

I am 26, from the UK and have been in New Zealand for just over a year. I am trying to stay longer and think I qualify for the skilled migrant residency visa. I have been filling out the EOI letter now for awhile and my head is starting to hurt. I am looking for some advice as I believe the application can be cancelled if information is wrong and it is a lot of money to get wrong.

I am a refrigeration/ air conditioning engineer/ Service technician with 10 years experience. Gaining a modern mechanical engineer apprenticeship through summit skills and a City & Guild NVQ level 3+4

1. Looking on the skills list air conditioning isnt a LTSS. Refrigeration falls under mechanical engineer for long term shortage skills. But states
    "
    Required standard

One of the following:
    - A Washington Accord accredited undergraduate (initial) engineering degree (listed - see Note 3) - A Bachelor of Engineering with Honours (NZQF Level 8) - A qualification at NZQF Level 7 or higher, with a letter from IPENZ certifying that the degree and any further learning meet the benchmark requirements towards Chartered Professional Engineer professional status in New Zealand - NZ registration as a Chartered Professional Engineer by the Institution of Professional Engineers New Zealand.
    "

2 . From looking on the guides my certificate dont need assessing and fall under SMC 40 I think. What does that relate to above.

3. I currently am full time employed in that job over here.

4. As I have high points anyway would it be safer for me to remove saying I fall under the long term skill shortage in case I dont have a level 7.

5. I am currently applying to extend my working holiday visa in the mean time. In the EOI I stated iv never been decline a visa. What happens say I got declined after submitting the EOI.

All and any information would be greatly appreciated

Many thanks