Thread: Nzcle

Default Nzcle

Hello,

I am hoping to start my application process to be admitted as a practicing solicitor in New Zealand. I have an LLB obtained from a recognised University in England which I obtained in 2003. I have been a practicing Solicitor in the UK for 3 years having obtained the necessary LPC from the College of Law in 2008.

I got a really helpful email from the NZCLE offering some advice on what I need to get together to have my qualifications assessed. They linked to this document which is active at the time of writing:

http://www.nzcle.org.nz/Docs/Admission_Brochure.pdf

I'm just in the process of gathering certificates and transcripts etc, but the part about obtaining the 'handbooks' pertaining to the various courses is a worry. There were 25 subjects in my LLB alone. I started that course in 2000. Suffice to say, any handbooks I had are long gone. I appreciate the linked document talks about how the Dean of the Law School can write a letter regarding the contents of the course (luckily, the now Dean was my tutor at the time), but it's a bit of an ask for the poor chap to wade through 25 textbooks commenting on the various changes in the law.

I simply post (because I'm unable to message folk, although this thread might be a useful reference for other applicants) to ask how others on the forum dealt with this particular requirement. The Collage I went to has also closed (although now run by the University of Law), so getting hold of handbooks from the LPC might also be tricky.

Thanks in advance for any help.
    Scott