Thread: ANZSCO codes and a few other hints for our EOI!

Default ANZSCO codes and a few other hints for our EOI!

Hi all,

First of all, thank you to all the regular posters on this forum!! Your advice has been beyond useful so far!

My partner and I are already in New Zealand. My accredited employer's work visa has just been issued, and his partnership work visa application is currently being processed (until then he has a working holiday visa). We would like to send in our application for Skilled Migrant Resident Visas right away, so I have a few questions about our EOI that I hope some/one you might have some input on!

My main question is about which ANZSCO code to use, so I'll start by giving some information about my situation:
    I work as a commodities trader - 222111 (per my job title and my current work visa), however the ANZSCO tasks don't match my duties very well. A more appropriate match is the "financial dealer NEC - 222299", but again, this is not a perfect match. For example, the financial dealer's ANZSCO tasks include tasks done "on behalf of clients", whereas in my job I do these tasks on behalf of my employer. Another example, one task is "analysing financial markets and financial market products", whereas I analyse commodities markets and commodities market financial products.

Questions:
    1. Does anyone know whether these differences will cause an issue? (specifically the "on behalf of clients" rather than "on behalf of my employer" part .. I think I can probably explain to the CO that a commodities market = financial market for commodities).

2. Should there be any issue if I apply for this new visa using a different ANZSCO code than I used for my accredited employer's work visa?