Thread: General visitor visa or Partnership based visitor visa?

Question General visitor visa or Partnership based visitor visa?

Hi

I have been reading posts here for the past few days whether my partner should apply for a general visitor visa or partnership based visitor visa, but I think every case is different so I decided to post ours.

First, I am a resident visa here in NZ. I lived here for 9 months then went back to my home country for 4 or 5 months, and then back here again. So, my partner and I have been together for more than 3 years now. We have this constant communication through Skype, Viber, Facetime and even sms messages via the internet. We are planning to apply for a visitor's visa this October. However we don't know what kind of visitor visa application should he apply. The thing is, we wanted to apply for a visitor visa first and then probably after 2 months, apply for a work visa based on partnership. We haven't lived together (because of the fact that I was away) that's why we are after for a visitor visa, but I am worried that INZ might give him a limited purpose visa only which would not allow him to apply for another visa once he gets here. The evidences that we have are: timeline, proposed 4 - 5 month itinerary, pictures, invitations sent to us (as a couple), letters from him, screenshots of our communication, receipts of him receiving money from me (2 or 3), and we used to have a joint account but now it is dormant because we haven't been depositing into it and now we cannot reactivate the account since I am away - although we might submit it as well (the card itself) hoping they would consider it. He won't resign on his job too, and we are planning to buy a return ticket. Any opinions? If he is to apply for general visitor visa, would that work? Can we still apply for a partnership based work visa after that? Should we get an immigration adviser for this? I really do not want him to be granted a limited purpose visa - do you think that'