Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Returning to NZ after many years

Default Returning to NZ after many years

Hi,
    I was living in NZ in my teens till early adulthood. I studied both high school and university in Auckland. During this period I was a granted PR (indefinite). Due to personal obligation, I had to return to my home country Malaysia/Singapore. Since then I have gotten married and started a family. My spouse is also New Zealand grad and I have 2 children. Many of our favorite fond memories are during our stay in NZ.

As I'll be fulfilling my obligation soon, I'm considering moving back to NZ with my family. I would like some advise about applying PR for my family under Partner/Children category.

Extracted from the www.immigration.govt.nz
    Things to note
    i) If your partner’s New Zealand residence is based on their Australian citizenship, Australian permanent residence or resident return visa, you can only apply for this visa if your partner lives in New Zealand.
    ii) If your partner is a New Zealand citizen and the two of you have been living together outside of New Zealand for 5 years or more, you may be eligible for a permanent resident visa. Your partner will need to be either overseas when you apply, or have been back in New Zealand for less than 3 months.

I assume I'm under case i). In this case, it requires the partner(sponsor) to be living in NZ. Uprooting and relocating is not an easy decision and task, I do not wish to put my family to undue stress and was hoping for some certainty.
    Appreciate if I can solicit some advise,
    • Does it imply that I have to return to NZ first before I can apply for my family? Currently we are all NOT in NZ.
    • If so, should my family enter NZ as Visitor and then I apply? I read somewhere that those under Visitor Visa are not allowed to apply for residency.