Thread: IPENZ Required? - Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering

Default IPENZ Required? - Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering

I have an ongoing residence visa application in Immigration of New Zealand with deadline to provide the IPENZ letter on or before Aug. 31, 2016.

The immigration officer have requested for me to submit an IPENZ letter certifying that the degree and any further learning meet the benchmark requirements towards Chartered Professional Engineer professional status in New Zealand. However, I am still confused if this is really required since I am in the field of Information Technology that does not require a professional registration or license or don't have an available board exam here in the Philippines, refer to this link for reference: http://www.finduniversity.ph/majors/...g-philippines/ and http://www.prc.gov.ph/prb/default.aspx.

In addition to that, I am a graduate of Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering course in Polytechnic University of the Philippines last April year 2004 (refer to this link for reference: https://www.pup.edu.ph/ce/bscoe.aspx). The NZQA only provided an assessment of Bachelor's degree at Level 7 with comment of "In New Zealand, professional registration is determined by the relevant professional body." There was no identified match for LTSSL.

I hope you could provide me guidance with regards to this concern. Let me know if you need more details as well, thanks!
    Last edited by vernabeng; 24th August 2016 at 11:02 PM. Reason: There is a typo

Since last year, all those with careers involving ANY kind of engineering are being referred to IPENZ for the qualifications to be assessed. Don't worry - they know about computer engineering, too.

If you contact IPENZ (see many other threads on the forum), you can get the process started, and then tell INZ before their deadline that this is done, and the CO will allow the extra time needed.