Thread: Full time welding student looking to relocate to Christchurch

Default Full time welding student looking to relocate to Christchurch

Good afternoon everyone! I am quite new to this and am looking for any information I can get. Any help would be most welcomed! I am 24 and living on campus to become a pipe welder, and I still have 8-12 months left, depending when advanced training starts. I am in a relationship with a UK citizen who is currently living in England. Our hope was to eventually move together to New Zealand, but I have read that there are many ways to go about doing this. We have been getting nowhere with getting even the smallest piece of information from UK immigration, and with more laws passing that limit non EU immigrants, more and more our plan b of moving to New Zealand is looking like the best option for us.

During summer and winter breaks from school I go live with him, sometimes a few weeks and sometimes a couple months. I know this may not exactly be enough to prove that we were living together as a couple, but it is something. He spoke to me previously about how I may be able to go under a work visa and he join me later as a partner, though we are both still looking into what little we can get our hands on. I noticed that there are very little welding jobs actually posted online for the Christchurch area, but there are so many articles about welders and construction tradesmen needed. Part of me hopes that is it similar to the area I am living in now, they are in need of welders, and would much rather have people contact them directly or show up in person to apply. ( not sure if that may be the case, please correct me if I am wrong.)

Sorry if this is quite vague, please reply with any information you may have. Feel free to ask any questions if it can help narrow down the information. Thank you for taking the time to read and respond to this. Have a wonderful day!