Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Engineering degree and ITA - anyone come across this before?

Default Engineering degree and ITA - anyone come across this before?

Hi - hoping someone may have come across this before and can offer some advice.
    I have a UK university MEng Engineering degree, Washington accord accredited and have received my ITA. The problem I'm having is although my degree is Washington accord accredited, because it is a Masters they're not considering it an 'initial' degree - aka an undergraduate degree as specified in the requirements and want a letter from IPENZ to say it's ok (which is another cost)

Confusingly, it is my only degree - the course is a 4 year course which is why it ends up being a masters rather than a bachelors - but it is my undergraduate degree, if that makes sense.

Anyone come across this before?

Thanks

What does ur nzqa IQA exactly says?
    Tell ur complete education timeline

Am I right in thinking that you might get a Bachelors AND a Masters from this course. You would have got the bachelors after 3 years and the masters after 4??
    So maybe you have 2 certificates at least at the Uni.
    I am slightly familiar as also an engineer from the UK. But I have a bachelors only. Before 1999 this was sufficient for chartered status ( and washington accord).

Otherwise it seems a bit of a bind. I suppose you will have to go through the NZQA process maybe. Maybe some younger engineers with experience of this will see this and help.
    Last edited by squowse; 28th November 2016 at 06:51 PM.

It is just one degree certificate - as it's one continuous course with one dissertation in the final 4th year - I'm chartered through IstructE also - hoping to avoid having to pay to get the degree assessed but they're sticking to the policy by the letter due to them not considering it to be an undergraduate degree, but it was.

This is the very course as listed on the Engineering council site

FullSizeRender.jpg