Thread: Two Germans - One Essential Skills - One Partner Work - Lots of questions

Question Two Germans - One Essential Skills - One Partner Work - Lots of questions

Hi guys,

First of all I want to say what a great forum this is. INZ can sometimes be a bit cryptic in their answers and this forum is wonderful for finding additional info and getting help. Unfortunately our particular case gets more and more complicated the more I think about it. INZ has offered some valuable answers and tips but there's still some open points. So let's start:

We're two Germans, aged 30, been together for almost 10 years, are currently on a WHV until 4th Feb 2017.
    My partner started working as a Senior Stylist at a small shop that tried for ages to find someone for this position. After a lot of thought we finally decided to approach the employer and she offered my partner a sponsorship together with a full-time contract. I wasn't as lucky, am an engineer by trade but work as a carpenter, arborist and horticulturist at the moment. The Essential Skills Visa (for her) and the partnership-based temporary work visa were what Immigration said would fit best and we already have all the forms filled out and lots of evidence for our relationship etc etc

• Timeframe
      We are a bit late. WHV is running out on 4th Feb 2017 and we are flying to Oz in a few days for a short visit as my parents are currently travelling over there. We WILL be coming back before the WHV runs out, touching down in Chch on 31st Feb. Immigration advised us that a return after our current visa runs out could be detrimental to our applications as we would have to enter on a visitor visa (which is for the purpose of visiting). BUT: Could we also run into problems as only four days are left on our WHV? My partner's application will hopefully already be lodged.
    • Application