Thread: Convert Germany Holiday Work Visa to Permanent Resident Visa?

Default Convert Germany Holiday Work Visa to Permanent Resident Visa?

Hi guys! My name is Alex, I'm 24 and from Germany. I currently have a job contract that goes until the end of 2018 and in January of 2019 and I want to move to NZ. I have a Masters Degree in Physics from a German University and currently about 4 years of work experience in the field of science and programming, I'm currently working as a programmer. I have some questions regarding my dream to move to NZ.

1) Based on your experience, how are the chances to get a permanent resident visa with my qualifications?

2) I'm not sure if I should look for a job in Germany or only as soon as I arrive in NZ? My plan is to apply for a Working Holiday Visa - and then to look for jobs as soon as I am in NZ. Can i "convert" the working holiday visa into the permanent resident visa? In the FAQ it says that I cannot take a "permanent job" while I'm on the Working Holiday Visa.

3) If you think it's better to look for a job offer remotely from Germany - how are your experiences with that and how far in advance should I start looking (I'm planning to move in 2 years)?

Thank you all so much in advance for taking time to read and answer my questions!

All the best and greetings from Germany,

Alex

Hello.

The first thing to say is that the visa you get in the first place when you apply under the Skilled Migrant Category is Residence. https://www.immigration.govt.nz/new-...-resident-visa PR is a different visa, which you can qualify for only after two years as a Resident, and if you meet other conditions. https://www.immigration.govt.nz/new-...anent-resident

You need to look carefully at the requirements for getting your Expression Of Interest selected for an application under SMC, so you can see if there are any extra matters you need to work on before you are ready to try.