Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Claim bonus point with no qualification but with 8 years experience

Default Claim bonus point with no qualification but with 8 years experience

The points requirement right now to be selected is 160 or more. Without the bonus points, I will not be able to reach 160 points.

I have a skilled job now as a software developer and I have 8 years of relevant experience. I can claim 20 points from my wife because she has a recognized qualification but still not enough to get the 160 points.

Am I able to claim points in an area of absolute skills shortage in Skilled Employment and Work Experience? In the LTSSL, it says that I need to have a qualification and at least 3 years of relevant experience. Can 5 years of my 8 years work experience substitute for the qualification?

Thanks so much.

Sorry to say what you won't want to hear.

No, it can't.

Is your employer accredited? Work to Residence and then Residence from Work could be another route to Residence for you.

Quote Originally Posted by JandM View Post
    Sorry to say what you won't want to hear.

No, it can't.

Is your employer accredited? Work to Residence and then Residence from Work could be another route to Residence for you.
    My employer is not accredited so I can't go that route. My wife was just at the immigration office in Auckland last week and asked this same question, but the person there said that I can claim for bonus points even if I don't have qualification as long as I can prove my work experience. Then another immigration consultant said that I can't claim bonus points that's why I asked in this forum.

It's quite disheartening that I can't claim bonus points.

By the way, @JandM, I checked out the Work to Residence Visa criteria and it clearly stated there that " you must have the qualifications required by the LTSSL". I believe the reason I cannot get the bonus points in the first place is because of this. Any thoughts on this?

Thanks again.