Thread: Open University - BSc Honours (Open)

Default Open University - BSc Honours (Open)

Hi all,

Back after a loooong time...

We have recently returned from a 3 week holiday in NZ whch has rekindled our desire to emmigrate.

We are again looking at SMC, but with a job offer, and supporting qualification. However, I have a query regarding this...

The EOI suggests that the qualification should be a named degree, such as "BSc (Hons) (Computer Sciences)", whereas my degree is "BSc (Hons) (Open)". This was due to the fact that the Open University at that time did not do named degrees.

Basically, an 'Open' degree allows the student to choose their subjects in order to 'build their degree' to their interests. All subjects I studied were computer and technology subjects (languages, networking, databases, etc.

So, does anyone know if we are likely to be told that the degree doesn't fit the requirements for the job offer to be valid, and therefoire lose those points?

Would we have to go through NZQA?

Thanks in advance.

Would we have to go through NZQA?
    Yes. See here on the INZ list of qualifications exempt from assessment. http://onlineservices.immigration.go...nual/45798.htm Your degree isn't on the list.

Quote Originally Posted by JandM View Post
    Yes. See here on the INZ list of qualifications exempt from assessment. http://onlineservices.immigration.go...nual/45798.htm Your degree isn't on the list.
    It would fit this option:- "Bachelor of Science (a speciality may be stated)".

I just wonder if they'll insist that it should be a named degree in Computer Science, although above it states "a speciality may be specified".

What year did you get your degree?

Quote Originally Posted by JandM View Post
    What year did you get your degree?

And what ANZSCO listing would your job offer be under?

Long term skills shortage list.

This is where I see:-