Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: SMC - skilled employment issue

Default SMC - skilled employment issue

Hello there my name is Sam,

I lodged in my ITA for SMC in Nov, at which I had been working for 9 months on a contract ended two days ago. (it was a 12 month contract with a university)

Now Im on my new contract which only spans from now (March) till mid December...

Based on what the manual says:

a. A principal applicant's current skilled employment in New Zealand for a period of at least twelve months qualifies for sixty points.
    b. A principal applicant's:
    i. offer of skilled employment in New Zealand; or
    ii. current skilled employment in New Zealand for a period of less than twelve months,
    qualifies for fifty points.

I guess I should be fine since I have been working for more than 12months in a skilled employment...

But if I look further about it having to be permanent: SM7.15

(b) Employment must be ongoing and sustainable. Ongoing and sustainable employment is:
    i. an offer of employment or current employment, with a single employer, that is permanent or indefinite, and of which the employer is in a position to meet the terms specified; or
    ii. an offer of employment or current employment with a single employer, for a stated term of at least 12 months; or
    iii. employment on a contract basis where the applicant:
    has a consistent history of contract work, and
    has a current contract for services, and
    INZ is satisfied that such contract work is likely to be sustained.

Given my current contract only lasts for 9.5 months, is it going to be a huge issue? (although I have been in skilled employment in NZ for 12 months)

I still haven't gotten my CO. Based on your experience, what are the chances I might get tripped over by my contract?

Thanks very much for your time