Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What are my options for obtaining residency?

Question What are my options for obtaining residency?

Hi all. I'm planning on doing backpacking in New Zealand on a Working Holiday Visa. I want to backpack for a year and then start the process to becoming a resident. However, obtaining residency seems difficult for someone my age who doesn't have wealthy parents or a degree.

Even though I don't have a degree, I have a lot of potential and ultimately want to become an entrepreneur. I want to invent a new food product in New Zealand, but also sell my designs (I'm an artist), and organic fruits and vegetables at local farmer's markets. More than anything in life, I want to live this lifestyle.

Unfortunately, entrepreneur visas require a lot of money up front. I think you have to invest 100,000 NZD to even obtain one. If you want to acquire residency as an entrepreneur, you must make a smacking 500,000 NZD in roughly 2 years to be given your residency visa. That seems absurd. I don't have that kind of money to invest, and my idea of "small business" is a lot different than what these entrepreneur visas call for. Really, I just want to set up a stall at the farmer's market and offer my services. This does not call for a 100,000 NZD investment, nor will it make 500,000 NZD in 2 years. I'm a photographer, an artist and future travel blogger. This stuff doesn't require big money, and I can still afford a minimalist, independent life off of it.