Thread: Getting short-term contract during career break

Default Getting short-term contract during career break

Hello! I am planning to be in NZ for 6 months from November, spending a few weeks at the start and end exploring the country with my family. In the middle we plan to find somewhere to rent in the Hamilton area (where we have friends living). I would like advice on getting work on a 1-3 month contract. I am a chartered mechanical engineer and have been working in a small automation/robotics company in the UK - I'm thinking that based on my experience I could add significant value setting up a fit-for-purpose quality system, health and safety policy, CE marking, or other compliance-related service for an SME in NZ. Or maybe transition to 3D CAD or CAD training, or writing technical manuals.
    Questions: 1. Do you think anyone would be interested? Especially if I was willing to accept a results-based contract (no win no fee!)
    2. What is likely to be most attractive to NZ companies: contract my services through a UK company, or some other method? (What are the NZ tax implications etc of giving a contract to a UK company?)
    Many thanks for your help.
    Geoff

If you are coming on a tourist visa (including visiting from a visa waiver country) you can't work. Do you have other eligibility to work here?
    Last edited by RedVee; 9th April 2017 at 10:49 AM. Reason: Clarity