Thread: Bay of Plenty/Tauranga: Salary and Cost of Living

Default Bay of Plenty/Tauranga: Salary and Cost of Living

Hi everyone,

Newbie here. Anyways, I currently reside in Canada and have been offered a position in NZ, Bay of Plenty region. Excited about the opportunity to live in unique part of the world and nice part of the country. At a minimum, a bucket list thing but who know, perhaps long term potential as well.

One thing I'm curious about and not really sure about. I know the cost of living in NZ is in general higher than in Canada. In Canada, a $100K salary is pretty good in many place (minus Toronto and Vancouver) and goes a long way. I realize in NZ, a $100K salary is not going to be as good as most places in Canada.

So, would anyone know what kind of lifestyle a single individual can expect making upwards of $100K NZ in the Bay of Plenty/Tauranga region? I can accept the fact that I can't save the same amounts I can here, money isn't the driver by any means, but obviously after paying my bills/expenses, I do want some resources left over for travel purposes to see the rest of NZ, one trip/year back home and perhaps squeeze in a visit to Oz each year. Don't want to be dipping into long term savings for this!

If anyone has any insights, it would be really appreciated. Thanks

I believe this article says it all.
    Financial adviser Liz Koh said she had dealt with clients with a household income of $200,000 who were having trouble.

"They spend more on food than the average wage. I say 'do you think you could cut back on your food bill to save a bit more' and they say they couldn't possibly do that.

"It's that distinction between needs and wants that is a very personal one."

Some people on higher incomes would get into a mindset where they felt they deserved certain things such as a nice car and house and a holiday every year, Koh said.

"If they don't get it they feel deprived. It is a psychological thing."