Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Something I want to share

Default Something I want to share

Last night me and my partner applied for the same role from BNZ. Immediate after submitting the application she was forwarded an email to complete an online assessment but I only receive a "we have receive your application etc etc" email. The only different bits in our application is one part of the questionaire I ticked "work visa" but she ticked "citizen or residence". My partner has residence visa and I'm a post graduate work visa. That's must be the trigger for the automated assessment email since we send in the application in the wee hours.

In conclusion, can't they just openly bring it across the board that they don't want any work visa holder and only citizen/resident should bother sending in the application instead they would rather waste our(work visa holder) time ???

INZ expect work visa holder to find a skilled job and apply for SMC but in reality many companies shut their door to non residence holder so how the damn I can land myself a skill job in the first place ? Not everyone study in those high demand low "kiwi" supply jobs like engineer/IT/construction/health care.... bro

Thank you for sharing ysc5, unfortunately even though how employer appears to be fair and equal in-terms of hiring it's their priority to take on resident or citizen visa holder as a requirement to look for local people first before giving it to a work visa holder.

Don't get me wrong I'm not saying that there is no chance for work visa holder to land a job or something but as immigration tightened up they now require employer more due diligence to actually hire locals first before other class holder this is being done by the so called skills match report that goes through WINZ as well I think.

Lately in seek and indeed website I can see some employer having to put a work "only resident and citizen applicant can apply" but most don't really put this on their ads.

just my one cent.