Thread: Q: Living Standards for Single Income Household, Urban Setting

Default Q: Living Standards for Single Income Household, Urban Setting

Hello All, New Here.

I am seriously tossing around the idea of working/living in NZ. I looked at my EoI score and I have a 150, just shy of applying for a visa outright apparently (160 minimum at this time). That's without a job offer. With a job offer that score is 210-240 depending on options.

I am looking at salaries and it seems Mechanical Engineers are getting the shaft. That said my current situation is that I am a single earner for myself, wife, son, and to be determined. I have 10 years experience in the power industry. I live in Charlotte, North Carolina currently and it is one of the cheapest places I have lived. I do not expect to keep my current standard if I would move to NZ as it looks more expensive and comes with a lower salary.

My question is what kind of standard of living could I expect in an urban environment with only a singer earner in NZ? Would an engineer need to live someplace more sub-urban or rural to afford 3 bedrooms? Which cities have better (lower) cost of living?

I have a lot more questions but I have just started to troll the forums and I'll ask those later.

Thanks
    -G

I have exactly the same question in my head too!

My situation is quite similar to gword256 which I am the single earner to support my family, included my wife and 2 daughters in child age. I have over 10 years experiences in ICT software development fields. For immigration process I'm now in ITA stage.

I don't mind to live in sub-urban or rural area to support 3 bedrooms, actually depends on where I can secure a job, I'm fine to live in either Auckland and Wellington. I'm intestested in where should I focus to search for rent house, which is easier to affort, with basic public transport, and is a safty area in term of public security.