Thread: What to WEAR???/!!!!

Default What to WEAR???/!!!!

Good day,

I am from Jamaica which means tropical climate and will be moving to Wellington in October 2017.I would like to purchase outdoor clothing suitable for the weather online as based on what I read it is cheaper to do so than to wait until I get to NZ.

Can persons who live in Wellington provide me with a list of the type of clothing I should be buying? Please be as specific as possible as I have NO knowledge of anything 'wintery' (just made up that word) as it relates to clothing. So for example instead of just saying jackets, specific the type of jacket.

Really appreciate the help. Thanks much

If you are moving in October it will be spring. So windy and wet but not freezing. You need layers really. There are lots of places in Wellington to get jackets etc. I think you should wait until you are there. You definitely need a waterproof jacket. Things like merino T-shirts and hoodies.

If you look on this website https://www.wunderground.com/nz/wellington and check the History section, you'll find that you can check back through the whole year to see exactly what the weather has been like - temperature, rainfall, wind strength, humidity - every day. This can give you a better idea than someone else's impression, when they may come from a different part of the world, so what they are acclimatized to can be very different also.

Hi,