Thread: Did anyone look for work in Dunedin over the past year?

Default Did anyone look for work in Dunedin over the past year?

How did it go?
    Were you successful?
    Did you have to physically go there?
    In what fields did you look?
    Any feedback is appreciated...

Hi there, Having lived in Dunedin as a student, I know quite a lot about the city and jobs. Try student job search, trade me. You are unlikely to find very highly skilled roles here. Even if you do, most will be web-developer sort of things. Otherwise, there is also Dunedin hospital and Otago University that have highly skilled roles available. If you are looking for general part time jobs, retail, care-taking and hospitality are your best bets.
    You are likely to face stiff competition in these roles because the town is full of students, most of whom are always looking for part time work or already working somewhere. Many employers would prefer a face to face interview since people are quite fond of getting the right person for their businesses rather than just a perfect CV. Good luck!

P.S. I searched for a job for 4 months before getting a casual role. That went well for 6 months but then there was no work thereafter.

Thanks. I'd be looking for professional work in applied science management (eng consulting, operations, etc). Didn't see a whole lot of postings on LinkedIn but I'll check out the sites you recommended. Are there any other major industries Dunedin supports? With a large hospital and Uni it sounds like a government city. Would you stay in Dunedin long term or is it one of those places you go do your schooling, have that experience and leave?

I think Otago university and polytechnic will be your best bets. TradeMe and Student Job Search are generally for casual/part time or not very skilled roles. SEEK is the best job search portal in NZ, for skilled roles.