Thread: Visitor Visa for Fiancée

Default Visitor Visa for Fiancée

Hi there,

I have a bit of a confusion here and i was wondering if someone could help me please?

So i recently got engaged to my girlfriend who lives in India and I am a resident here in New Zealand. She is about to finish her degree in India and we are planning to spend sometime together here in NZ in September 2018. I have been discussing this with my friends and as per some of their experiences, getting a visitor visa for a girl can be a bit tricky. According to what i have been told, INZ tends to reject such applications by saying that the visitors might not be genuine tourists and they might have the intention to settle down here with little intention to go back. Which can be slightly true in our case because my fiancée will eventually be moving here but for now she genuinely wants to come here as a tourist.

Since our relationship is kind of arranged as our parents introduced us, we dont have a awful lot of evidence to prove it apart from some pictures and messages. Anyways, we dont want to go down that track as yet because she just wants to come here for a month to have a look around and go back.

What should i do? Just sponsor her as a girlfriend or fiancée or just a friend? What are the chances that INZ might decline the application by saying that she is coming with an intention of stay permanently.

P.S. My fiancée is about to complete her dental degree and she has to complete her apprenticeship (about a year) before she will be moving here. So she has strong intentions to go back and complete her studies.

Thanks in advance

Yes, it can be difficult to get a visa with a partner sponsoring, for the reasons you have been told. Is there any reason your fiancée couldn't make the visit simply as a tourist, without your intervention?

Check: Partner of a New Zealander Visitor Visa

https://www.immigration.govt.nz/new-...s-visitor-visa