Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Visitor Visa or 'Partnership' Visitor Visa?

Question Visitor Visa or 'Partnership' Visitor Visa?

Hi guys,

First time poster, long time lurker, hoping to get some advice/hear about other people's experiences .
    I am a permanent NZ resident and my partner (US citizen) is hoping to move here this year.
    I understand that we do not meet the 'living together' partnership requirement for him to be granted a work/residency visa yet, therefore we thought it would be best that he apply for a visitor visa initially and state our intention that this is so that we can fulfill that requirement and then apply for a partnership work visa, and then subsequently residency once we meet the living together requirements.

My questions are:

1. Is there any point applying for a 'Partner of a NZer Visitor Visa' when it is just more hoops to jump through for the same result as a general visitor visa?

2. Will he be required to get a chest X-Ray when applying for a visitor visa? I understand it is a requirement if you intend to stay for more than 6 months, however on the visitor visa (after 3-4 months of collecting evidence of living together) we will be applying for a work visa so would it be required then or now?

3. Do you have to wait for one visa to finish before the next can start? For example: If his visitor visa was granted for say 9 months and during that time we apply for the work visa, would he have to wait until the end of the 9 month visitor visa before he could start working?

4. And finally, once a visa is granted is it effective from the date of issue or from the date he arrives in the country?

It would be great to hear other people's understanding/experiences.

Thank you,

Rebecca