Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is possible to transfer NZ PR Visa from one Passport to a Passport of a different country

Default Is possible to transfer NZ PR Visa from one Passport to a Passport of a different country

Hi everyone,

I am a NZ permanent resident and I have my permanent visa in a UK passport. I now live in Ireland and have gained an Irish Passport pretty much because of the uncertainty of Brexit.

My British Passport is due to run out soon but my Irish Passport is pretty much brand new. So I was wondering is it possible for me to transfer my NZ permanent residence visa from my UK to my Irish Passport so I don’t constantly have to renew two passports?

If I don’t renew my UK Passport can that affect my NZ PR visa or will I be able to renew it when I need to?

Many thanks

I think you need to ask INZ this specific question, and you may well find that the telephone answerers can't tell you, but need to refer you to a supervisor, because the website doesn't mention that scenario. https://www.immigration.govt.nz/new-...a-new-passport

Your NZ PR visa is for you, because of your situation, not bound to holding one particular passport, though your visa will be recorded against that passport's number, and, as it says on that web-page, when you have a new passport, you need to let INZ know, and get the visa transferred. Once granted NZ PR, it's normally yours for life - it takes a really serious crime to make the Minister annul a visa.

Thanks for you reply. You are right. I trawled through the website and I could find no mention of my case. I will have to contact them.

If I do find out that it is indeed connected to only my UK passport and I do not renew it and get a new visa added, is it fine for me to wait a period of time, for example 10 years, until I get it transferred to a new UK passport? Does this cause any issue by not having the PR visa in an active passport for a period of time?