Thread: Doubts about Visa requirements

Post Doubts about Visa requirements

Hi there!

First of all, I would like to congratulate all of you - this forum is amazing and extremely useful!

I have been a few months already looking for information about visas on several official and unofficial sources, but unfortunately I am still confused about some visa requirements and I need some help.

After an entire year planning it, I have been granted a Working Holiday Visa, and my idea, once there, is to find a job that allows me to stay in NZ longer time (indefinitely, if possible). I have checked all possible visas, including Essential, SMC and Talent, but some of the requirements are still not clear to me. In my case, I have two bachelor degrees, but my work experience is in another field other than the fields I studied. Fortunately, my work experience is precisely a job that is listed on the LTSSL, but this experience is less than two years. I have more years of work experience, but again, in another fields.

Now, I'd like to ask these questions:

• I am fairly confident that I can be offered a job position listed on the LTSSL, but as I've mentioned above, my degrees are in another fields. I'm not sure if the fact that a company would be willing to hire me for that position is enough to get a LTSS or Essential Visa, or if it won't be possible since my studies are not on that field, and I don't have enough years of experience on that position.

• Similarly, and concerning the SMC, let's say that I reach 160 points in the EOI, but my studies are different than the field in which I've been offered a skilled job position. Am I still eligible to apply for the SMC?