Thread: qualification and work experience

Default qualification and work experience

Hi

I am a pharmacy technician and have 2 questions.

1. I have NZ level 5 pharmacy technician qualification but can I claim my level 7 (assessed by nzqa) overseas qualification (economics and finance major)??

2. Can I include my pharmacy technician work experience as a trainee technician in my work experience and claim together with my post-qualification work experience??

thanks!!

See SM8.5 b here. https://www.immigration.govt.nz/opsm...c.htm?6954.htm You can use your non-relevant qualification to get you 50 points as long as it has been assessed as Level 7 by NZQA.

SM 7.10.1 b (same link) tells you that you have to have been qualified (having a qualification of some kind, or being qualified by the amount of experience set down as a substitute) before the skilled experience you are claiming points for. See further down that same page for definitions. So work experience as part of training, before you gained a qualification, cannot count.

Quote Originally Posted by JandM View Post
    See SM8.5 b here. https://www.immigration.govt.nz/opsm...c.htm?6954.htm You can use your non-relevant qualification to get you 50 points as long as it has been assessed as Level 7 by NZQA.

SM 7.10.1 b (same link) tells you that you have to have been qualified (having a qualification of some kind, or being qualified by the amount of experience set down as a substitute) before the skilled experience you are claiming points for. See further down that same page for definitions. So work experience as part of training, before you gained a qualification, cannot count.

------

thanks. but what about 'prior work experience'?
    my trainee job (job title: pharmacy technician-trainee) was paid job so I have IRD record. can it be claimed as a prior work experience by any chance??

SM7.10.15 ’Suitably qualified’ through prior work experience