Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie Here - looking to make the move!

Post Newbie Here - looking to make the move!

Hi All

Our first post here on the forum. Just after some general advice if thats ok? We're looking to emigrate from the UK to NZ and have done some extensive research in the normal way, re: cost of living, climate, etc and some homework regarding skills listing and visas (cost validity; etc).

Fortunately, hubbies job is on the Long Term List so this bodes well for us Now, ultimately we'd like PR be obviously there are steps we need to go through to get there!

Our visa options appear to be: Talent (Accredited Employer) Work Visa, Skilled Migrant Visa both of which require you to have an offer of skilled employment which is quite hard to achieve from the UK! Can't work without a visa, can't get a visa without a job offer - darn chicken & egg scenario. For the skilled migrant visa point calculation we've made assumptions that a job off is in place so have more than enough points.

Do you have any tips/advice on how to tweek your CV to make it stand out/ NZ style. Has anyone secured a job offer remotely? How did you find the process? Did you have a Skype interview?

Any advice you are able to offer would be gratefully received!!

Welcome.

Here's an old post which sums up the drawbacks NZ employers find to considering foreign applicants. https://www.enz.org/forum/showthread...952#post359952 There aren't many people who get a job offer from afar, unless they have a rare, niche skill. A recce trip as visitors is probably the most straightforward way to meet the NZ preference for seeing an applicant in the flesh, to get the feeling of whether they would fit in or not.

Hello and welcome!