Thread: Accommodation in Queenstown 5 days stay

Default Accommodation in Queenstown 5 days stay

Would like to check this in Queenstown.

Do tourists usually stay within in Queenstown's town area? or do they stay in places such as ArrowTown , Lower Shotover etc?
    Reason for asking is the cost differences..

We are trying to book rooms for 5 days for 5 people.

I have found a house in Cromwell.

I am planning to do Milford Sound tour. Do you know if tour operators will usually pick passengers from Cromewell?

Or if there is public transport to reach Queenstown by 7 AM then that would be great. Or do you know how are the car parking facilities in Queenstown? Is free parking allowed? If so we can drive to Queenstown early in the morning to catch the bus to Milford Sound.

Regarding driving in the early morning before 6AM in August.

Will there be snow or black ice on the road from Cromwell to Queenstown? Will it be safe to drive during this time?
    I have no experience with snow chain or driving in snow.

If you are planning to do most of your activities in Queenstown, you will need to be based in Queenstown or the very least as close to it as possible. Cromwell is about 1 hr away from Queenstown. Tour operators do not travel to Cromwell to pick up people (it's going in the opposite direction) , so you need to travel to Queenstown on your own to be in time for the bus and the bus journey from Queenstown to Milford is 2.5 hours either way, so you are looking at a very long day and a return journey at night on dark roads.

In my experience, it is better to be based at least 1 night in Te Anau to take the full advantage of the Milford Road and Sound (as daylight hours in winter is very short).

Snow may be a big deal on the Milford Road (and it may cause some chaos and cancellations) but it is unpredictable and hard to say. If you are in a rental car, you can ask and get snow chains for free or pay a small fee.