Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Essential skills - Skill level 5 low skilled experience question

Default Essential skills - Skill level 5 low skilled experience question

I have an offer of employment for a kitchen hand at a hotel. They are happy to sponsor me after a month of working there. But I have no recent work experience related to a kitchen hand role. The last kitchen job I worked was like in 2008.

The ANZSCO says that kitchen hand needs NZ Register Level 1 qualification, or compulsory secondary education (ANZSCO Skill Level 5) and possibly a short period on the job training.

Could I still apply for a visa under this occupation, or will I run into problems when providing relevant work experience evidence?

INZ are these days awarding very few Essential Skills visas for low-skilled jobs, the point being that there are plenty of unskilled NZers who can easily be given the minimal instructions necessary to let them do the work, and employers are obliged to prove that they have advertised the job thoroughly and not got any suitable applications from NZers before they offer the job to a foreigner who will need sponsoring for a visa. See here for the regulations about the Labour Market Test. https://www.immigration.govt.nz/opsmanual/#66935.htm

That is likely to be the problem you get before anyone thinks of asking you if you are qualified.

What kind of visa are you on at the moment?

There is mention here, under Qualifications and/or Experience, of what INZ need to see to prove experience. https://www.immigration.govt.nz/new-...-visa#criteria But I'm sorry, it doesn't sound as though you have a chance of getting near that stage, unless you are working in some tiny place far from anywhere else with hardly any NZers in the population.

Im in Queenstown currently on a whv.