Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Applying for Long Term Skills Shortage Visa - Not Quite Meeting Work Experience Requirement

Default Applying for Long Term Skills Shortage Visa - Not Quite Meeting Work Experience Requirement

Hi guys,
    I have a job offer from my employer, it's an ANZSCO level 1 job. I have previously worked for them on my WHV which only restricted me to work for them for 3 months. I then returned to my home country where I worked in my profession for 6 months. I have further relevant work experience for 9 weeks post-qualification. I hold a bsc (Hons) from an English Uni. So now I am returning to NZ and we've been trying to figure out which visa I should apply for. The profession is on the Long Term Skill Shortage List, however it requires 1 year of post qualification experience...which I literally fall short of 3 weeks. So my question is how picky would the INZ people be? Would they really reject my application just because I have worked on my profession for 11 months and 1 week, instead of the full 12 months? I have relevant work experience during my university studies, however as far as I understand only post qualification experience counts towards the requirement. Does anyone have experience with this or has been in a similar situation?
    I mean I will otherwise be applying for essential skills visa, however then my employer will be required to advertise the job for at least a few weeks before we can make a formal application...
    I'd be grateful for any help!

Rules are rules... When you put in an application to INZ, it is a legal document, and submitting it is equivalent to signing to say that everything on it is the truth. To do that if it's not the truth can be interpreted as fraud, which in turn can be a black mark for any subsequent visa application, anywhere. I know it sounds like the hammer and walnut thing, but when dealing with a foreign government, things are serious.